College Green History
In its history College Green House has had many occupants and many varying usages. In 1880 it was being used as a Church of Ireland Collegiate School, before being returned to a private residence in 1890 until 1928. In 1934 new owners crudely subdivided the house into flats and a mix of spinsters and academics moved in. The 1950’s brought more bohemian tenants and at one point was occupied solely by young artists. This era came to an end in the late 90’s when a fire rendered the house unsafe.
Hearth negotiated a long lease in 2000, allowing artists to move in once again to care for the building until restoration work started. In 2004 planning permission was granted and work began to upgrade services, reinstate the front elevation and replace damaged or lost external decoration. Internal plasterwork and decoration was restored using a neighbouring property to gather moulds and traditional techniques.
The stable and coach buildings were converted into a restaurant called Molly’s Yard, run by the Hilden Brewery. A ground floor flat has been turned into holiday accommodation by Hearth. If you wish to find out more visit: www.hearth-holidaylets.co.uk
Large houses like College Green House may be too big for a single family to live in, however it is possible to sensitively convert a historic property into flats without destroying a buildings unique character. In doing so it is preserved for the future and made more useful.